First mentioned in the 1275th year when the Livonian Order built the Dinaburg castle at the riverbank of the river Daugava.

In 1582, the king of Poland, Stefan Batory granted Dyneburg Magdeburg rights of town.

Over the years, it has been part of the state of:

  • Livonian Order (1275-1559)
  • Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth (1561-1710)
  • Russian Empire (1772-1920)
  • Latvian Republic (1920-1940)
  • The USSR (1940-1991)
  • Independent Latvian Republic (since 1991)

The years can vary because of different historical sources.
The city has repeatedly changed its name: Dyneburg – 1275, Borisoglebsks – 1656, Dyneburg – 1667, Dvinsk -1893, Daugavpils – since 1920.Daugavpils

Approved in 1925 the current coat of arms means: silver waved beam at a blue field (a symbol of the Daugava river), a golden lily (a symbol of St Mary the Virgin) above, a silver notched brick wall (a symbol of the old Dinaburg`s castle) beneath. Now Daugavpils territory is 72.48 km2 Population in 2013 – 101 006.
Daugavpils can be rightly considered as a unique multi-ethnical and multicultural city, where many cultures coexist. Ethnic composition in 2013: Russians (51,4 %), Latvians (17,9 %), Poles (14,2 %), Belarusians (7,5 %), Ukrainians (2,1 %) and others (6,9 %).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>